Is Baguio City part of Mountain Province?

Someone ask me and I know many are still curious about it. Let us answer the question “Is Baguio City part of Mountain Province?”

Let me clarify some things, Baguio City is a chartered city since 1901. It is part of the old Mt. Province, however, with the issuance of  Executive Order no. 220 – Creating a Cordillera Administrative Region, Appropriating funds therefor and for other purposes on July 15, 1987, Baguio City is now under the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR).

With the creation of CAR and the abolition of the old Mountain Province, the land area of the new Mountain Province became smaller and it is now part of CAR which composed of six provinces (Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga and Mountain Province). Baguio City is part of Benguet Province.

It is confusing for some but I hope you get the point. 🙂




Leave a Reply